Rangers Player Of The Year Winners Announced

RANGERS’ Player of the Year Awards Ceremony took place this evening, with an emotional goalkeeper Allan McGregor taking home the big prize, voted for by you, our loyal supporters.

The evening kicked-off with Brianna Westrup claiming the Women’s Player of the Year prize. Defender Westrup has had a superb season for Rangers Women in their inaugural campaign as professionals, playing a key role in their excellent defensive record.

Next up was Academy Player of the Year, and unsurprisingly, Nathan Patterson was announced as winner off the back of his breakthrough season into the Rangers first team, where he made a total of 14 appearances and netted two goals.

From there, it was on to the Sam English Award for top goalscorer, and remarkably with his 19 goals, captain and full-back James Tavernier was the winner.

A number of players who had reached individual milestones over the season were then recognised – Jermain Defoe for netting 300 career goals, Steven Davis for becoming Britain’s most-capped men's player, Alfredo Morelos for setting a new club record for European goals and Allan McGregor for the most Rangers appearances in Continental competition.

Goal of the Season is always one of the hottest discussions, and despite there being so many worthy candidates, unsurprisingly, MyGers members voted for the prize to go Kemar Roofe for his incredible strike from inside his own half against Standard Liege.

Young Player of the Year went to Ianis Hagi for an outstanding first full season at the club while skipper James Tavernier received the Players’ Player of the Year – perhaps the most coveted award of them all for the individuals in the team.

The prestigious John Greig Achievement Award, which recognises an outstanding Ranger who upholds all of what it means to represent the club went to Steven Davis.

Connor Goldson was then presented with the Manager’s Player of the Year prize for his wonderful season in which he played in every single match and accumulated over 5000 minutes of pitch time.

Host Emma Dodds then brought the evening to a close, with Allan McGregor claiming the Player of the Year award, as voted for by the Rangers supporters, on the back of a remarkable season for the goalkeeper in which he helped the club break the Scottish clean sheet record and the British record for fewest league goals conceded at home.