Player of the Year Awards 2022/23

THE Rangers Player Awards for season 2022/23 took place in Glasgow this evening to recognise those who have shone in Light Blue across the club’s teams.

The award winners were as follows…

Sam English Bowl – Sponsored by Cube Glass

Captain James Tavernier was presented with the prestigious Sam English Bowl for top first-team goalscorer for season 2022/23. The skipper made it 18 for the campaign with a clever free-kick in the 3-1 win over Hibernian at Easter Road earlier today, and could yet match or even break the 19 he netted in 2020/21 with two games to go.

First Team Goal of the Season - Sponsored by Rhino Express

There was plenty of competition for this one, but the award, courtesy of a supporters’ vote went to Antonio Colak’s winner against PSV Eindhoven back on August 24.

While Gers have perhaps scored more aesthetically-pleasing goals, few if any have been more important, with the strike taking Gers through to the UEFA Champions League for the first time in 12 years.

First Team Players’ Player of the Year - Sponsored by Impact Signs

Perhaps the most coveted award for any footballer – the one voted for by their own teammates.

This year, and perhaps unsurprisingly, the gong went to captain James Tavernier for yet another outstanding season for the Light Blues where he has once again led from the front.

John Greig Achievement Award

Another hugely prestigious prize, where the Greatest Ranger of all, John Greig, selects a worthy recipient for their dedication to the club, and honouring the timeless values which define Rangers.

This year, Mr Greig posthumously presented the prize to Jimmy Bell, Rangers’ much-loved kitman who passed away last May. On his behalf, the award was collected by his great friend and current club masseur, David Lavery.

Academy Player of the Year - Sponsored by Carrick Packaging

This award recognises the player to have made the biggest contribution to the club’s youth programme.

This year, the prize went to Arron Lyall, with the youngster capping a fantastic season for the B Team with a first appearance for the first-team at Easter Road earlier today.

Men’s Player of the Year – Sponsored by SEKO

Voted for by the supporters, this year the Rangers Men’s Player of the Year is captain James Tavernier.

Fresh from making his 400th appearance earlier today, Tavernier collected the evening’s main award to round off his eighth season with the club.

B Team Players’ Player of the Year – Sponsored by Carrick Packaging

Arron Lyall made it a double as he was voted by his teammates as the best B Team player following their latest campaign in the Lowland League

B Team Goal of the Season – Sponsored by Carrick Packaging

James Graham picked up this prize for a goal against Celtic in the Lowland League earlier this season.

Women’s Goal of the Season – Sponsored by SEKO

Lizzie Arnot collected this one for her spectacular strike against Hibernian in the Sky Sports Cup final back in December.

That put Gers on-track to victory as they claimed the trophy for the first time in the club’s history.

Women’s Players’ Player of the Year – Sponsored by SEKO

Voted for by her teammates, the outstanding Sam Kerr claimed this award.

Kerr has enjoyed a terrific season for the Light Blues, and will be looking to end on a high by claiming the Scottish Cup on Sunday.

Women’s Player of the Year – Sponsored by SEKO

The final award of the night, and unsurprisingly, the award for Women’s Player of the Year was collected by Brogan Hay.

It has been an outstanding season for Academy product Hay, with her performances earning her a call-up to the Scotland national team for the first time.

Hay and her teammates will be targeting a successful end to the season on Sunday when they face Celtic in the Scottish Cup final.

  • SHOP: Shop the latest arrivals instore at the Rangers Store and online HERE

  • RANGERSTV: Get closer to your club with RangersTV subscription HERE

  • MYGERS: Enjoy exclusive experiences, discounts and events with a MyGers membership HERE